Nobel Prize awarded to developers of the lithium-ion battery

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019 has been awarded to three pioneers in the development of lithium-ion batteries. According to the justifications, lithium-ion batteries have already revolutionised our lives in many ways. 

This year’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to M. Stanley Whittingham, Akira Yoshino and John Goodenough, who have been involved in creating the theory of lithium-ion batteries since the 1970s. In just over 50 years, the lithium-ion battery has become a significant part of everyday life worldwide. 

Lithium-ion batteries first appeared on the market in the early 1990s. Since then, they have served as the foundation for the development of a wireless, fossil fuel-free society. The lightweight, rechargeable and powerful lithium-ion battery is now widely used in vehicles, energy storage and consumer products. 

One of the strategic tasks of Finnish Minerals Group is to develop the Finnish value chain of lithium-ion batteries. The company owns significant stakes in Terrafame Oy and Keliber Oy, which aim to start producing battery chemicals used in the manufacture of batteries. Finnish Minerals Group is also engaged in negotiations on the establishment of industrial production at the core of the battery value chain in Finland. 

Further information:
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019